PROVINCIAL UPDATE: Ontario Returning 27 Public Health Regions to Strengthened COVID-19 Response Framework

In consultation with the Chief Medical Officer of Health, the Ontario government is transitioning twenty-seven public health regions out of the shutdown and into a revised and strengthened COVID-19 Response Framework: Keeping Ontario Safe and Open (the “Framework”). The four remaining public health regions, Toronto Public Health, Peel Public Health, York Region Public Health and North Bay Parry Sound District, will remain in the shutdown, and the Stay-at-Home order and all existing public health and workplace safety measures will continue to apply to these four public health regions.    
Based on a general improvement in trends of key indicators, including lower transmission of COVID-19, improving hospital capacity, and available public health capacity to conduct rapid case and contact management, the following public health regions will be moving back to the Framework on Tuesday, February 16, 2021 at 12:01 a.m. and will no longer be subject to the Stay-at-Home order: 
  • Grey-Lockdown: 
  • · Niagara Region Public Health 
  • Red-Control: 
  • ·     Chatham-Kent Public Health;  
  • ·     City of Hamilton Public Health Services; 
  • ·     Durham Region Health Department; 
  • ·     Halton Region Public Health;  
  • ·     Middlesex-London Health Unit; 
  • ·     Region of Waterloo Public Health and Emergency Services;  
  • ·     Simcoe-Muskoka District Health Unit; 
  • ·     Southwestern Public Health; 
  • ·     Thunder Bay District Health Unit; 
  • ·     Wellington-Dufferin Guelph Public Health; and 
  • ·     Windsor-Essex County Health Unit. 
  • Orange-Restrict: 
  • ·     Brant County Health Unit; 
  • ·     Eastern Ontario Health Unit;  
  • ·     Haldimand-Norfolk Health Unit;  
  • ·     Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge District Health Unit; 
  • ·     Huron Perth Public Health;  
  • ·     Lambton Public Health; 
  • ·     Ottawa Public Health;  
  • ·     Porcupine Health Unit; and   
  • ·     Public Health Sudbury and Districts. 
  • Yellow-Protect: 
  • ·     Algoma Public Health;  
  • ·     Grey Bruce Health Unit;  
  • ·     Northwestern Health Unit; and 
  • ·     Peterborough Public Health.  
  • Green-Prevent: 
  • ·     Leeds, Grenville and Lanark District Health Unit; and 
  • ·     Timiskaming Health Unit. 

For North Bay Parry Sound District, Peel Public Health, Toronto Public Health and York Region Public Health, it is proposed that the shutdown measures and the Stay-at-Home order will continue to apply until at least Monday, February 22, 2021. Please visit for the full list of public health region classifications.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x